NEW BRAND, NEW MODELS


Creation of Garen

FOLLOWING the separation, Jean kept the Courbevoie workshop but, wishing to expand his business, he launched the construction of a new workshop at 59 bis, rue Denis Papin in Houilles in Paris region, behind the house he occupied since 1954. He just founded a new brand, Garen, a designation inspired by La Garenne-Colombes, a town where him and his family resided some years earlier.

The corporate name of the company became Stimer & Garen. Jean employed no more than two employees, including Basile Oliva. Hired in July 1959 as a cable fitter, he was promoted foreman at the beginning of 1963 and remained Jean's right-hand man for more than a decade.

First Garen products

The Micarmon, a pickup for harmonica, and the 6-watt Lima amplifier, the first company's model with printed circuit board and separate power supply, were the first Jean's creations since the separation. They were marketed from 1958.

Garen ad, June 1958
First Garen advertisement published in the French monthly magazine Revue de l'Accordéoniste, in June 1958, and presenting the Micarmon, pickup designed for harmonica. Nicolas Pellet collection
Garen ad, November 1958
Garen adverstisement published in the November 1958 issue of Revue de l'Accordéoniste. The typography now highlights Garen against Stimer. Nicolas Pellet collection

Jean still offererd the previous models such as the M 10 and Nuance amplifiers before withdrawing them from his catalogue towards a new amplifiers family created in the very early 1960s : the Contrast, Clavier and Classic models. These devices profited from recent electronic improvements and allowed to produce special sound effects and timbres.

First Garen tariff
First Garen tariff, around 1958. Jean Guen collection

The first version of the Contrast model has the particularity of having a mono-button timbre changer. A second version enhanced with a vibrato was quickly supplied by the company around the year 1963.

More powerful, the Clavier (11 watts) and Clavier 25 (25 watts) amplifiers also are more complete. Each features a two-button tone controls as well as a vibrato and additional inputs. The French accordionist Aimable and guitarist Joseph Reinhardt, first Garen promoters, adopted the Clavier amplifier. In 1964, new versions delivered with reverb extended the Clavier series. « The one who gave me the idea was Johnny Halliday. One day, he phoned me and timidly asked me if I had amplifiers with spring reverb. I didn't know that. It was at his earliest stages of his career. His first amps were Stimer ones... or Garen »

Characterized by a soberer presentation than the Contrast and Clavier, the Classic series originally consisted of two models : the Classic 11, the Classic 15 with or without a vibrato, with a power of 11 and 15 watts respectively. A fourth model with a capacity of 30 watts and particularly adapted for bass guitar, the Classic Basse, was introduced in 1962 and appeared at the time of its launch as the most powerful amplifier of the Garen catalogue.

Clavier 25 amplifier
Released in 1960, the Clavier 25 amplifier, with a power of 25 watts. Jean Guen collection
Rock amplifier
The 5-watt Rock amplifier, relesaed in 1961, is specially designed for children. Jean Guen collection

These amplifiers are fitted with French vacuum tubes of the Belvu, Mazda or La Radiotechnique brands. Jean also acquired American RCA and Tung-Sol tubes. Each valves were selected according to security and longevity criteria. The transformers used come from French manufacturers such as Vedovelli, Audax, Véga and Legrand. The loundspeakers of the first Garen models are French too : Véga, Audax, Gé-Go or Philips. « RV had an advantage over me. I'm stubborn sometimes, I didn't immediately twig it. He used good loundspeakers, Jensen ones. As for me, I used Véga or Audax models, which were of poorer quality. But I was cheaper than him. I've learned afterwards there were guys who bought me amps and put Jensen speakers in them. Yet I gave Jensen models to Audax engineers, so that they can duplicate them. I ordered about a hundred ones but it wasn't satisfactory. »

In order to retain customers, first Garen devices carried the combined designation Stimer and Garen, enabling his new brand to benefit from its predecessor recognition. On the amplifiers, the Stimer logo diminishes, indicating its abandonment.

Accordion pickup
Garen piezoelectric pickup for accordion. It appeared in the early 1960s. Jean Guen collection
Bass pickup
Garen chrome-plated magnetic pickup for bass guitar, created around 1962. It is mounted recessed in the instrument. A control box, sold separately, allows to adjust the power and the tonality. Jean Guen collection

At this time, other amplifiers, pickups and sound equipment augmented the collection. The company also offered in its catalogue electric guitars fitted with Garen pickups as well as various accessories such as amplifiers covers, cables or jack connectors.

As in the time of the Guen brothers' association, the company manufactured and rented simultaneous translation systems used in international conferences.

BOOMING FIRST YEARS


Leading position in France

JEAN transferred his business in the new Houilles premises around the end of 1960. The company was henceforth called Garen. The workshop comprises a spacious and well-lit assembly shop, an office, a warehouse as well as a room designed for trying out the equipment. The company entered in an industrial logic and was able to recruit more staff. Madelein Guen, Jean's sister, joined him as a handworker in February 1961 and then became his secretary. In october 1963, the company made its entry into the Commercial Register.

Garen workshop
Facade of the Garen workshop in Houilles, completed in 1960. Jean Guen collection
Amplifiers wiring
Amplifiers chassis wired by young workers. Jean Guen collection
Checking of the voltage of an amplifier
Basile Oliva, foreman, is checking the voltage of an amplifier. Jean Guen collection
Mounting of Printed circuits board
Miss Lesturgeon is mounting printed circuits boards. Jean Guen collection
Chassis drilling
On the left, Alain Kohler, young apprentice, is drilling the chassis of the Garen amplifiers. Jean Guen collection
Assembly line of small devices
Laurence Guen on an assembly line of small devices with special effects. Jean Guen collection

By the dawn of 1960s, the Garen company was booming. In 1963, it employed about twenty persons and had already produced numerous amplification items. Its products were sold in France and abroad by 1200 resellers. In the November 1963 issue of the Musique et Radio revue, a Garen advertisement proudly announced that 80% of the French guitar amplification market was manufactured by Garen and that 30% of its production was directed to exportation.

Garen ad, April 1963
Garen advertisement published in the April 1963 issue of Jazz Hot featuring Joseph Reinhardt, Django's young brother. MuPop collection

Increasing competition

Despite prosperous beginnings, the Garen company quickly confronted a fierce competition which intensified over the decade. Foreign brands like Fender, Gibson and Ampeg from U.S.A., Vox, Marshall and Orange from England, Echolette from Germany or Farfisa and Binson from Italy gradually invaded the domestic market during the sixties. « When Fender arrived on the market, I saw my sales decline. I made money when no one else did. »

The French electric guitar market was itself more competitive than in the 1950s. Around 1963, Yves Guen, hitherto specialized in pickups manufacturing since the separation, decided to broaden his range of products making his own amplifiers. About the middle of the 1960s, Steve Brammer, father of the RV brand, created the Fender-inspired Stevens brand and Michel Benedetti developed under the Golden Sound brand a series of pickups for guitar as well as sound equipment.

SHADE, FACING THE GIANT FENDER


« An american technology at French prices »

IN a context of strong enthusiasm for American goods, symbols of prestige, Jean decided to create, like Steve Brammer with the Stevens brand, the Shade brand. Under this designation, the company developed a new range of amplifiers and sound equipment.

First Shade tariff
First tariff for the Shade amplifiers. Jean Guen collection

It was intended to suggest an American workmanship, regarded as commercially more favorable. All the indications on the control board are written in English and, in the manner of Marshall, the schematics are inspired by the Fender technology, a reference brand but too expensive for young persons.

Whereas since 1946, Jean had equipped his amplifiers only with loudspeakers made in France, especially with Véga, Audax, Gé-Go or even Philips models, the Shade amplifiers features the American Jensen speakers, just like Fender. However, the components used are mostly of French origin.

The Shade models display a more modern look than their contemporary Garen counterparts. Jean forsook the mottled greyish-white coating with bright red speaker grille, adopting a soberer covering made of imitation leather.

Shade amplifiers and sound equipments

The first Shade amplifiers were baptized the Shade 25 and the Shade 40, with a power of 25 and 40 watts respectively. These two models, marketed from 1964, comprise two channels with two inputs each. The second channel is equipped with a vibrato and a reverb.

Shade 40 amplifier
One of the first Shade models : the Shade 40. This 40-watt amplifier, equipped with a vibrato and reverberation, was released in 1964. Jean Guen collection
Kansas sound system
Kansas sound system including one 80 watts power amplifier, one preamplifier comprising 6 inputs, loudspeakers and vocal microphones. Jean Guen collection

As regards sound system, Jean and his team built a preamplifier, the 63 R model, that features 6 inputs, each having four adjustment knobs for volume, treble, bass and reverb. This item was designed to be associated with two ultra-linear amplifiers, the 4240 RT and 4280 RT models, each generating 40 and 80 watts, They can be resorted to a maximum of 10 speakers.

Shade amplifiers family
From left to right, Shade amplifiers Nevada (40 watts), Dakota (40 watts), Colorado (60 watts) and Ohio (25 watts). Jean Guen collection

Around 1966, Shade products were renamed with U.S. states names. Furthermore, two new half-stack amplifiers were produced : the 40-watt Nevada model and the 60-watt Colorado model, initially intended to amplify bass guitars.

The Shade series met a sharp success both in France and abroad. Numerous stars and bands of that period employed Shade apparatuses. In the early 1967, musicians of the French band Guitars Unlimited utilized the 25-watt Ohio and 40-watt Dakota amplifiers while Maurice Larcange, a famous French accordionist, endorsed the Kansas sound system including the 4280 RT amplifier and the 63 R preamplifier.

Jacques Liebrard with Juliette Gréco
Jacques Liebrard, former Edith Piaf guitarist, with French singer Juliette Gréco. He is holding a Raymond Gimenès guitar, made by the French Jacobacci brothers constructors, plugged to a Dakota Shade amplifier. The bassist is using a Nevada Shade amplifier. Jean Guen collection

DEVELOPMENT OF THE MODELS RANGE


Ever more powerful amplifiers

Tenor amplifier
Garen Tenor 60-watt amplifier. Released in 1963, this model was the first half stack amplifier manufactured by the company. Jean Guen collection

DURING the 1960s, the popularity of electric guitar and the music evolution resulted in a demand for still bigger and more powerful amplifiers.

From 1963, the Garen Tenor amplifier for bass and guitar, first half-stack of the Garen company, already reached 60 watts. At the end of the 1960s, the Soprano and Baryton amplifiers, respectively for guitar and bass, evolved from 40-watt combo models to 50-watt half-stacks then 100-watt stacks. In the same way, the Shade Nevada amplifier was modified with the mounting of larger diameter loudspeakers as well as the addition of two compression tweeters, and its power was increased to 100 watts. Jean, with a hint of irony, alludes to the success of these models with his new long-haired customers : « Musicians liked it, it was trendy. I remember one guy taller than me who went to buy me an amplifier. He told me : "Look, this one is amazing, we can hardly reach the controls ! [laughts] He was glad, it looked cool on stage. »

At the beginning of the 1970s, some Shade and Garen amplifiers delivered a capacity of 120 watts and incorporated distortion effects. « There was a sound that musicians liked : when it works at full power and makes "tzzzz", such as the humming noise of a bee. They called it "the sound". But you had to turn the volume up to high level. I therefore installed a circuit inside so as to get this bee sound, this special saturation which generates harmonics. It worked at low power. This was an asset. »

Fair at the end of the 1960s
Jean Guen, surrounded by imposing Garen and Shade amplifiers during a fair, at the end of the 1960s. At the very left, the Shade Nevada amplifier for guitar with compression tweeters. At the opposite, the Garen Soprano full stack amplifier. Jean Guen collection

Independant effects

The 1960s also saw the appearance of independent effects units allowing to diversify the sound palette of the electric guitar.

Distortion pedal
Garen transistor distortion pedal. Jean Guen collection

Thus, in the early 1962, Jean built a 11-watt stereophonic reverberation chamber called Echo 11 and that allows to obtain a cathedral sound effect when the device is connected to an amplifier. His early research dates back to the Stimer era : « I starded making echo chambers with my brother. I became very interested because I wanted to make some for Edith Piaf. There was reverberation on his records, but not on stage. » Later, other reverberation systems were created.

The Garen distosion pedal was released in 1966. It has a three-positions harmonic switch. Three years later, Jean presented his Garen wah-wah pedal, allowing to produce wah-wah and distortions effects.

A diversified supply

But the company offer was not limited to equipment for electric guitar. In 1967, two Garen electronic instruments were introduced : the Electronic Drums and the Electronic Gong. Incorporated in pedal, the former comprises a bass drum, a wood block and claves which are activated either with the foot with the help of a push buttons, or in an automatic manner with tempo setting. The latter consists of a ribbon microphone with four tiny metal rods allowing to produce a crystalline bell sound or glissando effects sounding like lap steel guitar.

Electronic Drums
Garen Electronic Drums. Jean Guen collection
Electronic gong
Garen Electronic Gong. Jean Guen collection

Thereafter, stage lighting equipment were created and in particular, the Colorama, a selective spotlight of modulated light or the Stroboflash, an electronic lighting system for movements decomposition.

Silkscreen printing of the Light Modulated
Layout representing the silkscreen printing of the Light Modulated, apparatus allowing to modulate the light by the sound. Jean Guen collection

EPILOGUE


Last brands : Shelton and Music Kit

IN the early 1970s, the company was suffering. It employed less than ten people. Jean then decided to launch his two last brands : Shelton and Music Kit (MK).

Under the Shelton brand, Jean developed a new series of powerful devices including tube and transistor amplifiers for bass and guitar within a range of 90 to 120 watts, as well as sound systems. The Shelton models are equipped with Fane loundspeakers made in England.

Shelton brochure Shelton brochure
Brochure promoting the Shelton products. Jean Guen collection

The concept of the Music Kit brand intended to be economical and pedagogical. The Music Kit apparatuses, as the name suggests, were sold in spare parts and thus at a lower cost. It was up to customers to assemble himself the amplifier, with the possibility to receive assistance and advices from engineers.

MK amplifier
Unknown model of Music Kit amplifier. Jean Guen collection
MK prospectus
Prospectus promoting several items of the Music Kit brand. Jean Guen collection

The idea yet came at a time when foreign competition was weakening the French production. These two brands encountered a limited success. « It became tough with the arrival of Italians, then Japanese around 1972. They made quite good and cheap stuff. I calculated, wholesalers bought them one amp much like mine at the price at which I purchased the components. But I was too sentimental towards my employees. I should have outsourced wiring to Italy, a good manager would have done it. [...] I made mistakes [...] I'm not a manager. I'm a technician, a dreamer.  » Jean acknowledges. He gradually abandoned the amplifiers manufacturing and decided to focus his production on theft protection devices : central computer, motion detector, radar, siren, telephone dialer etc.

End of the Garen company

In August 1976, the Garen company was removed from the Commercial Register and was replaced by the Guelec firm, specialized in the construction and installation of anti-theft systems. The Guelec company also developed defense devices such as chemical sprays and other incapacitant weapons.

During the year 1980, the company decided to recentralize its activities in Paris. Close to his 60's, Jean refused to follow the Guelec company which proceeded to his dismissal. He retired in April 1981.

NOUVELLE MARQUE, NOUVEAUX MODÈLES


Naissance de Garen

SUITE À la séparation d'avec son frère, Jean conserve l'atelier à Courbevoie mais, désireux de développer son activité, il initie la construction d'un local au 59 bis, rue Denis Papin à Houilles. Il vient de lancer sa nouvelle marque, Garen, dont le nom est inspirée de La Garenne-Colombes, commune où lui et sa famille ont vécu des années auparavant.

La raison sociale de l'entreprise devient Stimer & Garen. À ce moment-là, celle-ci ne compte pas plus de deux employés, dont Basile Oliva. Recruté en juin 1959 en tant que monteur et câbleur, ce dernier sera rapidement promu contremaître. Évoluant comme le bras droit de Jean, il travaillera dans l'entreprise durant plus d'une décennie.

Premiers amplificateurs et microphones de la marque

Le Micarmon, microphone pour harmonica, et l'amplificateur Lima, d'une puissance de 6 watts et premier modèle avec circuit imprimé et alimentation séparée, comptent parmi les premières créations de Jean depuis la séparation. Ces appareils sont commercialisés dès 1958.

Publicité Garen, juin 1958
Première publicité Garen à paraitre dans le mensuel Revue de l'Accordéoniste, en juin 1958, et présentant le Micarmon, microphone pour harmonica. Collection Nicolas Pellet
Publicité Garen, novembre 1958
Publicité Garen publiée dans le numéro de novembre 1958 de Revue de l'Accordéoniste. La typographie donne désormais la prédominance à Garen sur Stimer. Collection Nicolas Pellet

Jean propose toujours dans son catalogue les anciens modèles d'amplificateurs M 6, M 10 et Nuance avant de les abandonner peu à peu au profit d'une nouvelle gamme créée à l'aube des années 1960 : les modèles Contrast, Clavier et Classic. Ces appareils bénéficient des perfectionnements récents de l'électronique et permettent de créer des effets sonores et des timbres spéciaux.

Premier tarif Garen
Premier tarif Garen, vers 1958. Collection Jean Guen

La première version du modèle Contrast, amplificateur d'une puissance de 11 watts, a la particularité de proposer un changeur de timbre monobouton. Une seconde version augmentée d'un vibrato apparait en 1963.

Plus puissants, les amplificateurs Clavier (17 watts) et Clavier 25 (25 watts) sont aussi plus complets. Ils disposent non seulement d'un changeur de timbre mais également d'un vibrato et d'entrées supplémentaires. L'accordéoniste Aimable et le guitariste Joseph Reinhardt, premiers promoteurs de la marque Garen, adoptent chacun l'amplificateur modèle Clavier. En 1964, deux versions munies de réverbération complètent cette série. «  Celui qui m'a foutu la puce à l'oreille, c'est Johnny Halliday. Une fois, il me téléphone et me dit timidement : "Est-ce que vous avez des amplificateurs avec de la réverbération à ressort ?". Je ne connaissais pas. C'était tout à fait à ses débuts. Ses premiers amplis, c'était des Stimer... ou des Garen. »

D'une présentation plus sobre que les séries Contrast et Clavier, la série Classic renferme au départ trois modèles : le Classic 11, le Classic 15 et le Classic 15 avec vibrato, respectivement d'un puissance de 11 et 15 watts. Un quatrième modèle de 30 watts spécialement étudié pour basse, le Classic Basse, paraît en 1962 et constitue au moment de sa sortie l'amplificateur le plus puissant du catalogue Garen.

Amplificateur modèle Clavier 25
Commercialisé en 1960, l'amplificateur Garen de 25 watts modèle Clavier 25. Collection Jean Guen
Amplificateur modèle Rock
L'amplificateur Garen modèle Rock de 5 watts, paru en 1961, est spécialement conçu pour les enfants. Collection Jean Guen

Ces amplificateurs sont équipés de lampes françaises des marques Belvu, Mazda ou encore La Radiotechnique. L'entreprise se fournit également auprès des constructeurs américains RCA et Tung-Sol. Chaque lampe est soigneusement sélectionnée selon des critères de sécurité et de longévité. Les transformateurs utilisés sont issus des fabricants français Vedovelli, Audax, Véga et Legrand. Les haut-parleurs des premiers modèles Garen sont également français : Véga, Audax, Gé-Go ou encore Philips. « RV avait un avantage sur moi. Je suis breton quelquefois, je n'ai pas pigé tout de suite. Lui mettait des très bons haut-parleurs, des Jensen. Moi je mettais des Véga ou des Audax, qui étaient moins bons. Mais j'étais moins cher que lui. J'ai appris longtemps après qu'il y avait des types qui m'achetaient des amplis et foutaient des Jensen dessus. Pourtant j'avais donné des Jensen aux ingénieurs d'Audax pour qu'ils me fassent la même chose. J'en avais commandé une centaine mais ça n'était pas bon. »

Les premiers appareils Garen portent durant plusieurs années la double appellation Stimer et Garen, permettant ainsi aux clients d'associer ces deux marques. Sur les amplificateurs, la typographie du logo Stimer, dont la taille diminue progressivement, annonce l'abandon de la marque.

Microphone pour accordéon
Microphone Garen pour accordéon de type piézo-électrique, apparu au début des années 1960. Collection Jean Guen
Microphone pour basse
Microphone magnétique Garen, créé vers 1962, pour guitare basse. Il se monte sur l'instrument de manière encastrée. Un boîtier de réglage, vendu séparément, permet de contrôler la puissance et la tonalité. Collection Jean Guen

À cette même époque, d'autres amplificateurs, microphones et appareils de sonorisation agrandissent la collection. L'entreprise propose également à son catalogue des guitares électriques équipées de micros Garen ainsi que divers accessoires tels que des housses d'amplificateurs, des câbles ou encore des fiches de jack.

Comme au temps de l'association entre les frères Guen, l'entreprise fabrique et loue du matériel pour la traduction simultanée utilisé dans les conférences internationales.

DES DÉBUTS PROSPÈRES


Une position dominante en France

JEAN transfère son activité dans le nouveau local à Houilles vers la fin de l'année 1960. L'entreprise s'appelle désormais Garen. L'atelier comprend une salle de montage spacieuse et bien éclairée, un bureau, un magasin ainsi qu'un studio conçu pour l'essai du matériel. L'entreprise s'inscrit dans une logique industrielle et peut désormais recruter davantage de personnel. Madeleine Guen, la soeur de Jean, le rejoint en tant que manutentionnaire en février 1961 puis devient sa secrétaire. En octobre 1963, Jean inscrit son entreprise au registre du commerce.

Atelier Garen
Façade de l'atelier Garen à Houilles, achevé en 1960. Collection Jean Guen
Câblage d'amplificateurs
Câblage d'amplificateurs par de jeunes employés. Collection Jean Guen
Contrôle de tensions d'un amplificateur
Basile Oliva, contremaître, contrôle les tensions d'un amplificateur. Collection Jean Guen
Montage de circuits imprimés
Madame Lesturgeon monte les circuits imprimés. Collection Jean Guen
Perçage de châssis
À gauche, Alain Kohler, jeune apprenti, se charge de percer les châssis d'amplificateur. Collection Jean Guen
Chaîne de fabrication de petits appareils
Laurence Guen sur une chaîne de fabrication de petits appareils à effets spéciaux. Collection Jean Guen

À l'aube des années 1960, l'entreprise Garen est en plein essor. En 1963, elle emploie une vingtaine d'employés et a déjà conçu de nombreux modèles d'appareils pour amplification. Ses produits sont vendus en France et à l'étranger chez 1200 dépositaires. Dans un numéro du mois de novembre 1963 de la revue Musique et Radio, une publicité Garen annonce fièrement que 80% du marché français d'amplificateurs pour guitare est fabriqué par Garen et que 30% de sa production est dirigée sur l'exportation.

Publicité Garen, avril 1963
Publicité Garen parue dans Jazz Hot, en avril 1963, mettant en scène Joseph Reinhardt, frère de Django. Collection MuPop

Une concurrence qui s'intensifie

Malgré des débuts prospères, l'entreprise se confronte rapidement à une concurrence internationale féroce s'intensifiant au cours de la décennie. Des marques étrangères comme Fender, Gibson et Ampeg venant des Etats-Unis, Vox, Marshall et Orange d'Angleterre, Echolette d'Allemagne ou encore Farfisa et Binson d'Italie vont en effet envahir peu à peu le marché hexagonal au cours des années 1960. « Quand Fender est arrivé, je voyais mes ventes baisser. J'ai gagné de l'argent lorsque personne n'en faisait. »

Le marché national français de la guitare électrique est lui-même plus concurrentiel que dans les années 1950. Vers 1963, Yves Guen, alors spécialisé dans la fabrication de microphones depuis la séparation, choisit d'élargir son offre en commercialisant des amplificateurs. Vers le milieu des années 1960, Steve Brammer, créateur de RV, lance la marque Stevens et Michel Benedetti développe sous la marque Golden Sound une série de microphones pour guitare ainsi que des appareils de sonorisation.

SHADE, FACE AU GÉANT FENDER


« Une technologie américaine à des prix européens »

DANS un contexte de fort engouement pour les marques américaines, symboles de prestige, Jean décide de créer la marque Shade («nuance» en anglais) en 1964 à l'instar de Steve Brammer avec la marque Stevens. Sous cette nouvelle appellation, l'entreprise développe une gamme d'amplificateurs et d'appareils pour sonorisation.

Premier tarif Shade
Premier tarif des appareils Shade. Collection Jean Guen

L'intention est de suggérer une facture américaine, considérée comme plus porteuse commercialement. Les indications figurant sur le tableau de contrôle des amplificateurs sont écrites en anglais et, de la même façon que son concurrent anglais Marshall, les schémas s'inspirent de la technologie Fender, une marque de référence mais financièrement inaccessible.

Tandis que depuis 1946 Jean n'équipe ses appareils qu'avec des haut-parleurs de fabrication française, les amplificateurs Shade sont montés avec des haut-parleurs américains de marque Jensen, comme Fender. Toutefois, les composants utilisés sont pour la plupart d'origine française.

Les modèles Shade adoptent une allure plus moderne que leurs homologues Garen de l'époque. Jean abandonne le revêtement gris moucheté avec toiles rouge vif au profit d'un habillage plus sobre en simili-cuir noir.

Amplificateurs et appareils de sonorisation de la marque

Les premiers amplificateurs pour guitare de marque Shade se nomment le Shade 25 et le Shade 40, respectivement d'un puissance de 25 et 40 watts. Ces deux appareils sont dotés de 4 entrées, d'un canal ordinaire, ainsi que d'un deuxième pour réverbération et vibrato.

Amplificateur modèle Shade 40
Un des premiers modèles d'amplificateurs Shade : le Shade 40. D'une puissance de 40 watts, muni d'un vibrato et de réverbération, il est commercialisé dès 1964. Collection Jean Guen
Sonorisation modèle Kansas
Sonorisation Shade modèle Kansas, équipée d'un amplificateur de 80 watts, d'un préamplificateur comprenant six entrées, d'enceintes et de microphones pour chanteur. Collection Jean Guen

Côté sonorisation, Jean met au point un préamplificateur modèle 63 R contenant 6 canaux ajustables grâce aux réglages de volumes, d'aigus, de graves et de réverbération. Cet appareil est conçu pour s'associer à deux nouveaux amplificateurs de 40 et 80 watts du type ultra-linéaire, les modèles 4240 RT et 4280 RT, permettant d'alimenter jusqu'à 10 enceintes.

Famille d'amplificateurs Shade
De gauche à droite, les amplificateurs Shade modèles Nevada (40 watts), Dakota (40 watts), Colorado (60 watts) et Ohio (25 watts). Collection Jean Guen

Vers 1966, les appareils Shade sont rebaptisés aux noms d'états américains. Par ailleurs, deux nouveaux amplificateurs à deux corps voient le jour : le modèle Nevada d'une puissance de 40 watts pour basse et guitare et le modèle Colorado d'une puissance de 60 watts, conçu pour fonctionner avec orgue ou basse.

Les appareils Shade rencontrent un vif succès tant en France qu'à l'exportation. De nombreuses vedettes et groupes jouent sur du matériel Shade. Vers le début de l'année 1967, les musiciens du groupe Guitars Unlimited adoptent les amplificateurs Ohio (25 watts) et Dakota (40 watts) tandis que Maurice Larcange choisit la sonorisation Kansas comprenant l'amplificateur 4280 RT et le préamplificateur modèle 63 R.

Jacques Liebrard avec Juliette Gréco
Jacques Liebrard, ancien guitariste d'Edith Piaf, en compagnie de Juliette Gréco. Il est équipé d'une guitare Jacobacci modèle Raymond Gimenès et de l'amplificateur Shade modèle Dakota. Le bassiste utilise quant à lui l'amplificateur Shade modèle Nevada. Collection Jean Guen

ÉVOLUTIONS DE LA GAMME


Des amplificateurs toujours plus puissants

Amplificateur modèle Tenor
Amplificateur Garen de 60 watts modèle Tenor pour tous instruments. Sorti en 1963, il est le premier amplificateur à deux corps de l'entreprise. Collection Jean Guen

AU COURS des années 1960, la popularité de la guitare électrique et l'évolution de la musique populaire entraînent une demande pour des amplificateurs toujours plus puissants et imposants.

Dès 1963, l'amplificateur Garen modèle Tenor, premier stack deux corps de la marque, pour basse et guitare, atteint déjà les 50-60 watts. À partir de la fin des années 1960, les modèles Soprano pour guitare et Baryton pour basse créés vers 1966 évoluent en ensembles à deux puis trois corps, passant de 40 à 100 watts. Le modèle Nevada de la marque Shade se modifie avec le montage de haut-parleurs de plus grand diamètre ainsi que l'ajout de deux tweeters à chambre de compression, et sa puissance est portée à 100 watts. Non sans ironie, Jean évoque le succès de ces modèles auprès de sa nouvelle clientèle aux cheveux longs : « Les musiciens aimaient bien ça, c'était la mode. Je me rappelle d'un type plus grand que moi qui était venu m'acheter un amplificateur [à trois coprs]. Il me dit : "Regarde, il est formidable celui-là, on peut à peine atteindre les boutons ! [rires] Il était content, ça en foutait plein la vue sur scène. »

Au début des années 1970, certains amplificateurs des marques Garen et Shade affichent une puissance de 120 watts et disposent d'effet de saturation. « Il y avait un son que les musiciens aimaient bien : quand c'est à pleine puissance et que ça fait "tzzzz", comme un bruit d'abeille. Ils appellent ça "le son". Mais, il fallait mettre le volume au maximum. Alors, j'avais fait un montage à l'intérieur de façon à ce qu'on ait ce son de bruit d'abeille, de saturation spéciale qui créée des harmoniques. On l'avait à très faible puissance. C'était un plus. »

Salon à la fin des années 1960
Jean Guen, entouré d'imposants appareils Garen et Shade lors d'un salon à la fin des années 1960. À L'extrême gauche, l'amplificateur Shade modèle Nevada pour guitare avec haut-parleurs à chambre de compression. À l'opposé, l'amplificateur à trois corps Garen modèle Soprano. Collection Jean Guen

Les effets indépendants

Les années 1960 voient l'apparition d'appareils à effets indépendants permettant de diversifier la palette sonore de la guitare électrique.

Pédale de distorsion
Pédale de distorsion à transistors Garen. Collection Jean Guen

Ainsi, au début de l'année 1962, Jean et son équipe finalisent une chambre de réverbération stéréophonique de 11 watts qu'il appelle Echo 11 permettant d'obtenir un son de cathédrale lorsqu'elle est reliée à un amplificateur. Ses premières recherches en la matière remontent à l'époque de Stimer : « J'avais commencé les chambres d'écho avec mon frère. Ça m'intéressait beaucoup parce que je voulais en faire pour Edith Piaf. Sur ses disques, il y avait de la réverbération mais pas sur scène. » D'autres modèles de chambre de réverbération feront plus tard leur apparition.

En 1966 sort la pédale de distorsion Garen équipée d'un sélecteur d'harmoniques à trois positions. Trois années plus tard, Jean présente sa pédale Woua-Woua Garen permettant plusieurs combinaisons d'effets de woua-woua et de distortion.

Une offre diversifiée

Mais l'offre de l'entreprise ne se limite pas au matériel pour guitare électrique. En 1967, sortent deux instruments électroniques sous la marque Garen : l'Electronic Drums et le Gong Électronique. Incorporé dans une pédale, le premier se compose d'une grosse caisse, d'un wood-block et de claves que l'on peut actionner soit avec le pied à l'aide de boutons poussoirs, soit de manière automatique avec réglage de tempo. Le second se présente sous la forme d'un microphone à ruban avec quatre petites tiges métalliques qui permettent d'obtenir un son de cloche cristallin lorsqu'elles sont frappées séparément. Les tiges attaquées différemment donnent des effets de glissando rappelant la guitare hawaïenne.

Electronic Drums
Electronic Drums Garen. Collection Jean Guen
Gong électronique
Gong électronique Garen. Collection Jean Guen

Peu après, des appareils pour les éclairages scéniques sont créés, comme le Colorama, projecteur sélectif de lumière modulée ou encore le Stroboflash, dispositif électronique lumineux de décomposition du mouvement.

Sérigraphie du Light Modulated
Plan de la sérigraphie du Light Modulated, appareil permettant de moduler la lumière par le son. Collection Jean Guen

ÉPILOGUE


Dernière marques : Shelton et Music Kit

L'ENTREPRISE arrive à son terme au début des années 1970. Elle emploie moins d'une dizaine d'employés. Jean décide de lancer ses deux dernières marques d'amplificateurs : Shelton et Music Kit (MK).

Sous la marque Shelton, Jean développe une gamme d'appareils puissants comprenant des amplificateurs à lampe et transistors pour basse et guitare allant de 90 à 120 watts, ainsi qu'un système de sonorisation avec boîte de mixage sur pied et colonnes sonores géantes. Les appareils Shelton sont pourvus de haut-parleurs du fabricant anglais Fane.

Catalogue Shelton Catalogue Shelton
Catalogue présentant les appareils Shelton. Collection Jean Guen

Le concept de la marque MK se veut à la fois économique et pédagogique. Les appareils Music Kit, comme leur nom l'indique, sont vendus en pièces détachées et par conséquent à moindre coût. C'est donc au client de monter son amplificateur lui-même, avec la possibilité de bénéficier de l'aide et de conseils d'ingénieurs.

Amplificateur MK
Modèle inconnu d'amplificateur Music Kit. Collection Jean Guen
Prospectus MK
Prospectus présentant la gamme des produits de la marque Music Kit. Collection Jean Guen

L'idée intervient à un moment où la concurrence affaiblit la production française. Ces marques ne rencontrent pas un vif succès. « C'est devenu difficile avec l'arrivée des Italiens, puis des Japonais vers 1972. Ils faisaient des choses pas mal et très bon marché. J'avais calculé, les grossistes leur achetaient un ampli à peu près comme le mien au prix auquel j'achetais le matériel. Mais j'avais de l'affection vis-à-vis de mes employés. J'aurais dû faire câbler en Italie, un bon gestionnaire l'aurait fait. [...] J'ai fait des erreurs [...] Je ne suis pas un gestionnaire. Je suis un technicien, un rêveur. » reconnait Jean. Il délaisse progressivement la fabrication d'appareils pour amplification et décide d'axer sa production sur des dispositifs de protection contre le vol : central électronique, détecteur de mouvement, radar, sirène, transmetteur téléphonique, etc.

Fin de l'entreprise Garen

Le 17 août 1976, l'entreprise Garen est radiée du registre du commerce et laisse place à la société Guelec, spécialisée dans la construction et l'installation de systèmes antivols. L'entreprise met également au point des appareils anti-agressions tels que des sprays chimiques et autres paralyseurs automatiques. Jean occupe le poste de co-gérant puis de directeur technique à partir d'avril 1979.

Au cours de l'année 1980, l'entreprise décide de re-centraliser son activité sur Paris. Jean, à près de 60 ans, refuse de suivre la société Guelec. Cette dernière procède alors à son licenciement. Il prend sa retraite le 30 avril 1981.